About the pdf version of the World of Near

People have been asking about this, so I might as well inform everybody at once.

As I’ve indicated before, my intent is to make a pdf version of the World of Near available. In fact, I would have liked to have it available four months ago, roughly. However, my illustrator and main man, Jari, has been failing with his scheduling, causing this particular project to get delayed several times over the winter. Particularly, Jari has been writing his Master’s thesis, which was considered of more import than getting the pdf out in time, considering that both a paper book and a free html version of the work are already available.

The reason for why I can’t finish the pdf layout of the book without Jari’s assistance is that the pdf version is in color and has more art than the book; Jari has to design the new look and illustrations for the work. I could make an artless version available, but what’s the point when there is a nice HTML version out in the Internet? I’d rather take as long as it takes in this case, as a delayed work is hopefully a better option than a sub-quality one when a nice minimalistic version of the work is available.

I hope that our delay does not reduce your interest in subsidizing my work, dear reader. This is not an ideal schedule for attracting new people to take a look at The Shadow of Yesterday, but I hope that the interested folks who have been asking about it can make do with the HTML edition while we see about getting that PDF done.

5 Responses to “About the pdf version of the World of Near”

  1. Nick Novitski Says:

    Gah! There’s been an html version this entire time?! Don’t I feel sheepish.

    Personally, I appreciate the attempt to differentiate the digital and physical products, and not just dumping whatever pdf you used for printing on us. Delays are hardly the end of the world.

  2. Eero Tuovinen Says:

    It’s entirely possible that I haven’t made a point of advertising the HTML version anywhere. It’s been around a while, though.

    If you get around to reading the html version, do let me know what you think. My quota of game critique hasn’t been reached on this one, not even close.

  3. Darken Says:

    Right. I found out this version only because you personaly told me about it. 🙂

  4. runiq Says:

    Good luck to Jari, I know how it is sometimes… What’s his thesis’ topic, if I may ask? 🙂

    In any case, are there any updates on the situation? Perhaps a rough estimate as to the release date of the PDF version or some such?

  5. Eero Tuovinen Says:

    The thesis is done at this point – it’s about the use of ultrasound in fluid flow measurement.

    The WoN pdf is firmly in the queue, it’ll be done when it’s done. I expect an August release, myself, but who knows what lurks in the minds of lazy collaborators.


Leave a Reply

