Back from hiatus…

If you can call a month’s break a hiatus, anyway. I’ve been plenty busy with all seven kinds of projects ranging from typical whitecollar slaving to preparing for Tracon, one of my favourite Finnish conventions. Apparently blogging is one of the simpler things to set aside when you’re busy, so here we are.

It should make sense that after not writing the blog for a month I should have some interesting topics. At least they interest myself:

  • I read the entire oeuvre of Vaskikirjat, a Finnish indie fantasy publisher. Pretty interesting, I’ll be writing about it a bit later. Erkka Leppänen, the publisher, has good taste.
  • I’ve been playing a lot of Fantasy Flight Games boardgames, which basically means large Ameritrash games with  lots of pieces. Something useful should be said about those, I think.
  • I’m almost done with Zelda: Ocarina of Time, which is apparently considered one of the best adventure video game titles of its generation at the end of the ’90s. I was mired in low quality computer gaming at the time, which perhaps explains why I’m just playing the game with determination now. Some interesting notes presumably forthcoming.
  • As the readers of this blog know, I’ve been working with “adventure gaming” lately, which then became the topic of a lecture I gave at the aforementioned Tracon convention. Some folks have asked for written notes, which I’ll probably put up here at the blog at some point.

As for when I’m actually going to write about the above topics… well, we’ll see. Hopefully soon.

4 Responses to “Back from hiatus…”

  1. KingSpoom Says:

    Written notes on adventure gaming? Sounds interesting.

  2. Linnaeus Says:

    Glad to know you’ll be posting again. This is one of my favourite RPG blogs.

    Was your lecture meant to be an introduction to or overview of adventure gaming, or was it something more specific?

  3. markkutuovinen Says:

    Adventure gaming is a separate activity from role-playing, and Eero explained in the lecture the difference between the two.

  4. Eero Tuovinen Says:

    Well, I wouldn’t go as far as to say that it’s separate… rather, the continuum from games like Descent and Heroquest to Dungeons & Dragons means that in several common situations the roleplaying is one of the least significant features of such a game, and that it’s useful to recognize this fact instead of reifying the roleplaying aspect of these games.

    But the details will have to wait until I write that long blog post about it. Or perhaps several ones; I’ve been told that normal bloggers split their topics into several posts over time, so as to have the time and energy to actually write them.


Leave a Reply

